I got yer filibuster right here, bub…

Okay, I need help here. I’m looking at the “compromise” between Senate Dems and GOPpers on the filibuster showdown, and I’m trying to figure out precisely what happened. As best I can tell, the GOP gets the straight majority vote it wants on extremist judges like Priscilla Owen. The Dems, in turn, get to keep their theoretical right to filibuster at some unspecified point in the future in the event of undefined “extraordinary circumstances.”

So, either I’m missing some of the subtle nuances, or Senate “leaders” just agreed that the Republicans will get exactly what they want and the Democrats will get to shut up and like it?

I’m hoping somebody can enlighten me.

2 thoughts on “I got yer filibuster right here, bub…

Leave a Reply

