Rage Against the Beastie Boys

So I’m down in NC, spending a few days in the 336 consulting with the mayor and sundry powerful city business leaders, golfing, and generally laying up at sirpaulsbuddy‘s crib. Long story short – after quenching our thirst at the Foothills Brewing Co. we tackled the evening’s burning question – to wit: what is the difference between the Beastie Boys and Rage Against the Machine?

A: The Beasties are fighting for their right to party. Rage is fighting for the Zapatistas’ right to party.

Thank you, and good night.

7 comments

  1. Hahaha.
    I never particularly liked either band; or any band that sounds more like screaming and less like music, for that matter.
    Have fun in NC – is it, by chance, cooler there than it is here?

  2. It’s cooled off a bit, but it’s ridiculously humid so it doesn’t feel like it. Yuck.
    I want to move to the desert. I love the heat, but this humidity … ugh.

  3. Wait just a minute!
    OK, OK, OK. Beastie Boys want nothing more than to party, but RATM had an intent (atleast Zach did). They we trying to show us the evils that we…nevermind. Its no use. You’ll just bring it back around to what you said again.
    By the way, have you gotten a copy of Confessions of an Economic Hitman yet?
    I want to wish you good luck down there but, as an SBU J\MC student…well …I can’t LOL. Have fun though

  4. Living in the desert
    I can’t say I’ve ever actually lived in the desert, but I’ve traveled through it at high summer enough times to say that there is such a thing as too much heat. “It’s a dry heat” doesn’t cut it for me – my standard response, ever since I heard it from someone else the firs time, is now “Yeah, it’s like a blowtorch.” 116 in the shade with 2% relative humidity on a bridge over the Colorado river is just WAY too hot and dry.
    On the other hand, I’ve been in Connectitcut in August, when it’s 95 degrees with 98% relative humidity and the only way to escape the humidity is to go for a swim in Long Island Sound, so I do understand the drive to escape hot and sticky.
    Give me cold any day. I can always put on more clothing if I get cold, but there’s only so much I can take off (and then I’m at risk of 3rd degree sunburn and heatstroke).

  5. Re: Living in the desert
    Ahh, yes, you do have a good point.
    I live in Albany, where the winters are brutally cold and the summers are either very wet or very hot – more often than not, both. I hate the dead of winter around here, hate that there is no spring, and I long for September – where it is still warm, but dread November.
    I was being flip, as my boyfriend and I have (casually) discussed moving to Austin when I finish my Masters’. We had a chance to move there last year, and I strongly vetoed it; I know it is definitely for the best (right now, anyway, for a number of personal reasons), but in the middle of snowstorm after snowstorm, I was wishing I was in a warmer climate.
    If I could live somewhere that didn’t go below 50 degrees in the winter, and didn’t climb above 85 in the summer, I’d be a happy camper.

Leave a Reply

