Lordi wins Eurovision!

Well, this just rocks Satan’s fuzzy little booties, don’t it?

In case you missed the backstory, I posted an item on the controversy about a month ago, and am glad to see that Finland’s president didn’t use her veto power to get involved in the nation’s entertainment industry.

That kind of heavy-handed paternalism is something that should only be practiced by George Bush or Hillary Clinton.

And now, if you’ll pardon me, I have some babies to sacrifice. All Hail Lordi!

7 comments

  1. I’m not sure what to make of this. Does this mean old metal-heads like me can come out of out respective dark corners and celebrate a resurgence of metal (Lordi coupled with VH1 Classic’s Metal Month), or if we should just sit back and allow for a slow, painful decomposition of both our souls and the art of good metal.
    (retreating into the darkness of my corner now)

  2. Have you listened to these guys? The funniest part is that they’re scaring the shit out of people, but the sounds are more like late 80s hair metal. They’re nowhere near as raging as Rob Zombie.
    So I don’t know what to make of this. They may be the next big thing over here, or not….

  3. All I’ve heard is the stuff on the web site. I think it’s pretty good! That is where the problem lies. When I think something is good, the mainstream says it’s crap and I never hear or see it again!
    I just don’t have the faith in the general public to pick up on something good to have the desire of basking in the sunlight anymore. It’s just too much work having to justify to the entirety of America why they’re wrong. These guys will most likely become an addition to my music collection.
    HOLY SHIT! I’m starting to sound like an EMO punk.
    (Lifts the hood of his meditation robe over his head, covers his eyes and…)

  4. We’ve reached the point where if the mainstream think’s it’s good, there’s a 99% chance you don’t want to be seen with it in your collection, anyway.

  5. Good! At least Finland’s getting some respect now. And to those who say ‘Death Metal makes kids worship Satan’ – nah, that’s what Catholic school does.

  6. I hope you’re not really being that elitist and snobbish. Sometimes large numbers of people like something because it has authentic value, shows real talent, or has a resonant message. Simply because others like something doesn’t mean I have to dislike it. That’s just another way to be controlled by the majority…

Leave a Reply

