Liberal Arts moments: welcome to a Restoration theater business meeting

I’m sitting on a conference call, helping my corporate clients pull together an important sales training session for their upcoming global sales kickoff conference.

All of a sudden, I find that I’m able to make a neat point about how an interactive exercise could be structured by referring to the performance dynamics of Restoration theater.

So, to those who feel that Liberal Arts degrees only qualify you to be a fry cook, might I humbly offer: fop you!

We now return you to your regularly scheduled MBA business meeting.

6 thoughts on “Liberal Arts moments: welcome to a Restoration theater business meeting

  1. Thanks for this small glimmer of hope…my 21 yr. old, who has meanderingly taken three years to complete two years of college thus far, just declared himself (at my urging) a history major for the simple reason that it’s something he really enjoys studying.
    Never once in all his high school or college advisement meetings with counselors did a liberal arts degree come up. Not once. I told him to stop thinking of college as job-placement training and start treating it as an opportunity to simply learn interesting things.
    Then when he graduates with his four year degree, he can spout intersting historical bits of information while washing dishes.

  2. Some of the least valuable employees I have run across in my professional travels have professional degrees – some even have advanced professional degrees. If it were my call, I’d can all pre-prof majors at the undergrad level starting tomorrow. Teach people to THINK and the rest will take care of itself.

  3. I so totally agree. I don’t care if it’s history or literature or cultural anthropology or whatever, the liberal arts are about thinking, feeling, and noticing *patterns*. My humble desk job would be nothing but rote memorization and dull procedure if I didn’t bring cross-platform pattern-recognition skills from my outside interests in here with me. As it is, I can quickly size up things in terms of process management without so much as a single management course under my belt, anticipate opportunities for growth (read: shit that will break), and help build synergy between parts of a team that never really gelled before. I take it for granted, my peers think of it as miracle working, heh. Of course, I’m content to let them have their myth πŸ™‚ Then I chuck more off-the-wall metaphors at them when appropriate and look for that flicker that says something new just snapped into place for them as well. I love that it’s contagious if one just takes the time to spread it.

  4. This reminds me that my two partners also earned Lib Arts undergrad degrees before getting their MBAs. And we use the fact that we emerge from Sociology, Psych and Antho as a selling point in our corporate deck. We’re people who have always understood the importance of studying human culture and behavior.

  5. heck, in your chosen field that sounds like the difference between life and death. what? you’re going to peddle successful in-the-box ideas that worked for someone else so the client can be #1049814 in the field or will it be bleeding edge ideas that stand a chance to propel them head and shoulders over the throng?
    for me, i still have to go back and wrap up my undergrad degree one day. it’s been about a 10-year moratorium, heh. when i do go back, it’s likely either going to be philosophy, history, or cultural anthropology, and i fully expect it will further shape how i mix things up in the marketplace, whatever i’m doing…tho i’m awfully tempted to go philosophy followed by a JD. then i could position my twisty viewpoints to good effect for a cause i’m down with πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

