Calamity in Cackalacky

Shortly after 5:00 AM EDT, we were rattled from our bed by an earthquake. Gods, it tinkled the china and woke the dog. We don’t get many temblors in this part of the country, so as you can imagine, we’re all right fluttery today. The local paper and TV station were so shaken (as it were) by the event that they couldn’t even bring themselves to cover the story for several hours (I see they have both now gotten a grip on things and have leapt into action).

I suspect there’s a connection with this story. My theory is that we actually hit the 300M mark a couple hours earlier than expected, and that the extra weight/shift/distribution hit this region harder than others.

I can’t actually prove my theory, but it feels right to me, and I think that should be enough for you.

By the way, in case you were wondering, the dog hopped out of his crate, trotted over to his day bed, and went back to sleep.

:xpost:

28 comments

  1. my mom didn’t even feel the quake in hawaii. she was driving at the time and didn’t know anything other than the electricity across island ent out until about an hour later. my step dad felt it. he was with the horses at the time. but they’re all fine. of course, they’re all on oahu, and the quake was much closer to the big island. if that thing would have hit closer to oahu (and honolulu) things would have been a LOT worse.

  2. All the dumb college students raise your hands…
    I’m sure I’m not the first juvenile reader to snicker at the possible misinterpretations of the photo in the inbox. 😉
    I’ll just send myself to the corner and think about what I’ve done to avoid the rush.

  3. Re: Snerk!
    damn, i hate that your new page formatting is netscape unfriendly. damn having to use internut exploder just to reply.
    fwiw, a 2.6 in NC is equivalent to something much higher here in California. you easterners and midwesterners have more stable ground, so the quakes ring your area like a bell. out here, quakes are the rough equivalent of pushing around wet snow.
    it’s the same reason why no one out here has basements … which, incidentally, is also why no good ideas come out of southern California. how in the hell can a man think if he doesn’t have a decent dungeon? but i digress.
    to make a long story short, accept your momentary panic and thank the creativity gods for giving you fertile ground.

  4. Re: Snerk!
    damn, i hate that your new page formatting is netscape unfriendly. damn having to use internut exploder just to reply.
    Fine. There’s your old style back.
    how in the hell can a man think if he doesn’t have a decent dungeon?
    Based on what I read about The Legend of Bill Gates, I think “garages” are your “basements.”

  5. Sleeping through the “big one.”
    Last night the eathquake came and I didn’t even wake up. What’s that going to mean for me and the Rapture! I will probably sleep through that as well. However, Winston-Salem should miss the Rapture completely as there are 10% more Democrats than Republicans registered to vote here and most of the Republicans I talk to are not voting for their party in November. God sheds his favors on such communities.

  6. Well, at least no one came running out of a bedroom in your house claiming to be the victim of a poltergeist, like a certain member of my family (who will not be named, to protect the innocent) did during the major Ohio Quake of 84.
    Of course it did take a 4.6 quake to get that reaction out of my sister.

Leave a Reply

