Haggard semi-confesses and plays the forgiveness card

[In picture at right, de-flocked Rev. Ted Haggard mimes the “repulsive and dark” side of his sexual nature.]

Haggard confesses to ‘lifelong’ sexual problem
POSTED: 2:13 p.m. EST, November 5, 2006

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado (CNN) — Evangelical pastor Ted Haggard confessed on Sunday to a “lifelong” sexual problem, and said he was “a deceiver and a liar,” in a letter read to his New Life Church.

“There is part of my life that is so repulsive and dark that I’ve been warring against it all of my adult life,” he said in the letter. (Story.)

If you read carefully, he still seems to be a few inches shy of actually admitting the full extent of what he actually did with Jones, and at this stage it seems likely that he’s guilty on all charges. (And the crimes here, of course, are hypocrisy, bigotry, and lying, not homosexuality.)

Here was the best part, though:

He asked the congregation to also forgive his accuser, who Haggard said has revealed “the deception … that was in my life.”

Truly, it’s noble for him to forgive the man who…ummm, wait a second – what was Jones’ sin, again? Oh, that’s right, telling the truth and calling out a public hypocrite.

Well, Haggard has certainly shined a light into my life, and in this spirit I’d like to forgive a few people, too. I want to forgive my wife for loving and marrying me. I want to forgive all the teachers whose selfless dedication to the education profession allowed me to pursue academic and career opportunities I couldn’t have dreamed of otherwise. I’d like to forgive the millions of soldiers who have risked their lives fighting for my freedom. And finally, I’d like to forgive Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. for laying down his life in the quest for racial equality in America.

Praise Jesus®, I feel like a free man!

:xpost:

2 comments

  1. On a semi-related note, Transparency International gave South Africa a rather poor score. To which a presidential spokesman commented, “We question their open bias and poor methodology.”
    In the best traditions of weasels everywhere: when accused of anything, the best response is hypocrisy – find a way to blame your accuser.

Leave a Reply

